Templewood Primary School

Roots to Grow and Wings to Fly

Pentley Park, Welwyn Garden City, Herts, AL8 7SD

01707 324251


Roots to Grow Wings to Fly


The Different Stages in Primary Education

  • Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) - Nursery and Reception (4 and 5 years of age)
  • Key Stage One (KS1) - Year 1 and Year 2 (6 and 7 years of age)
  • Key Stage Two (KS2) - Year 3 to year 6 (8 to 11 years of age)


EYFS (Early Years Foundation Stage)

The Foundation Stage forms part of the whole school and there is a close partnership, with joint planning, between staff members to ensure continuity and
progression for our children. Templewood links Nursery and Reception classes through close interaction between all staff and children.
In the Foundation Stage we provide care and education for a wide range of children in environments that enable children to feel safe and supported and which extend their learning and development.


KS1 & KS2 (Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2)

The children in KS1 and KS2 follow the National Curriculum and teachers ensure the objectives are covered in a broad, balanced and creative way.


Please see follow the links to access the Curriculum Maps for all year groups which highlight curriculum coverage for the academic year. For more detailed information per term please see the Class Information Letters.



If you would like further information about the schools curriculum please contact the school office.